top of page

A great wee review from the guys at BEST BEER HQ

BEST BEER HQ

15 February 2017 -  Best Beer HQ

Queenstown Brewers Dead Snake Porter Review

ABV: 4.5%

Blurb on the bottle: The first snake sighted in Queenstown was in March 1894 as it emerged from a crate of bottles in the Wakatip Brewery. It escaped, but the approaching winter cold would have dealt to the “immigrant from Australia”.

This Brown Porter is made for the cold months that keep us snake free. The six NZ malts give a rich chocolate/to ee focus.

Tastes like: A good winter beer. It’s just a pity that it’s summer and I’ve got nothing else to drink inside my fridge except the bottle of Dead Snake Porter that my wife got me in my Christmas cra beer advent calendar.

But it’s still very nice, with lashings of co ee, chocolate, and to ee. The roasted malts harken back to my winters in the northern hemisphere, while the funky-cool label featuring Queenstown’s remar

kable Remarkables mountain range is quintessential South Island, New Zealand.

Like all porters, the flavour is enhanced as the bottle of beer warms in my hot little hand. But before I know it, I’m all out of beer and there’s no more in the fridge L

The verdict: I’ve written it several times on this beer blog now and I’ll write it once again – I really need to drink more porters and stouts. Though dark beers are seldom my first choice, I always find myself really enjoying them.

And Queenstown Brewers’ Dead Snake Porter is no exception. It’s ideal for winter, or when you really can’t wait that long.

Beer/movie combination: With a name like ‘Dead Snake Porter’ there are so many different choices of movies to watch while you drink this beer. Initially I thought of Indiana Jones, who hates snakes of course. Then I thought of that laughably horrible movie Anaconda, before finally settling on a suitably dark but awesome cult dystopian action movie from 1981 featuring a protagonist called Snake Plissken.

I’m speaking, of course, about John Carpenter’s Escape from New York. Set in the future year of 1997, New York’s Manhattan Island is now a maximum-security prison. When Air Force One goes down inside the city, just one man is up to the task of retrieving him...


Recent Posts

Archive

Follow Us

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page